The Lego Movie, 2014

Directed by: Phil Lord, Christopher Miller

Starring: Chris Pratt, Will Ferrell, Elizabeth Banks

IMDb

I recall a time where I used to give a Facebook review to every movie I saw. Gradually I stopped but just recently a film came by and shook me so hard that I felt an urge to shout it out loud: so here I am about to tell you why the Lego Movie is one of the best films I have seen.

Like everyone else, the first time I saw a trailer for this I groaned, thinking it would be a lame product placement of a film, but somehow the filmmakers raised a collective middle finger to that notion and made a great film.

The humour is outstanding. I have laughed harder in movies, but never quite so consistently. There were jokes from beginning to end and the humour exists in such a way that all ages can enjoy it, while still keeping it very PG and oh so funny. Some bits had me in tears.

The way the film was animated really made it not seem to matter that what you’re looking at is lego figurines and they emote very well. The animation as a whole was very impressive, the entire world being made of lego. There’s no real way of getting around it, the animators had to find a way to make every landscape and building and everything out of lego.

The characters were all fantastic and enjoyable. Morgan Freeman, Liam Neeson and Will Ferrel were all enjoyably exploiting their stereotypes while still making for interesting characters. Chris Pratt as the lead was basically perfect, acting as the fish out of water utterly normal amongst a group of amazing people – the humour and even sentiment around his character just worked so well.

The story is exceptionally basic: watch the trailer and you’ll get the jist of it, but there’s a twist which is not only hilarious but adds layers of meaning, depth and sentiment that no one could have possibly expected from the lego movie. It makes everything make perfect sense: because of the twist, it makes perfect sense that this story is done in Lego – it’s not just a gimmick to make you buy the toy (though it certainly has that effect).

There’s a reason that the movie has 96% on rotten tomatoes, and it is truly criminal that it was released here, in the country it was made, two months after the rest of the world. I give it my full recommendation and I think it shouldn’t be passed off as ‘just a kid’s movie’ by anyone. Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

