The Girl on The Train, 2016

Directed by: Tate Taylor

Starring: Emily Blunt, Haley Bennett, Rebecca Ferguson

IMDb

The Girl on the Train was something few mainstream films are anymore: unpredictable. I honestly had no clue where it was going to go for most of the runtime, which I feel was a successful attempt to get the audience identify with the protagonist, who spends most of her time simply trying to interpret what the hell is going on. The unpredictable storytelling is the film’s greatest accomplishment. However, I can’t think of anything else that really stood out to me as amazing or unforgettable, but I can’t think of any real weaknesses either. It drags slightly in the middle but that section was ultimately quite brief. Overall I really liked it.

I’m aware that everyone makes this comparison, but it really does remind me of Gone Girl, at least in tone, theme and some story elements. That said, Gone Girl was a better movie overall.

So yeah, I recommend The Girl on the Train to anyone who enjoyed Gone Girl.

Leave a Reply

