Star Wars: The Force Awakens, 2015

Directed by : J.J. Abrams

Starring: Daisy Ridley, John Boyega, Oscar Isaac

IMDb

So I want to preface this review with the fact that I wasn’t brought up a star wars fan. I only actually watched the originals very recently, but it’s hard to deny their charm and the craft behind them. I enjoyed them, but I don’t feel as passionate about them as many others do, which is why this review is a week late. It may also give context to some of my opinions.

I was really impressed by The Force Awakens. Sequels too often mimic the previous films to recreate the feel that attracted the original audience or differ so much that they lose the feel entirely. In my opinion, the feel for the universe that star wars created was largely responsible for its success. So, the success of the new film would depend on the recreation of that feel without just remaking the originals. They did it.

I feared that Kylo Ren would rip off Vader. Nope. He was fresh, intimidating in a very different way to Vader and worked very well. Great villain.

I feared that there would be too much fan service over the old films. Nope. This is very much the story of the new characters, who don’t aim to replace the roles of the original cast but instead give new perspectives on the universe. Not the most original characters ever but definitely new in this context. I look forward to revisiting them.

I feared that the movie would try to achieve too much (much like Avengers 2). Nope. It basically came out as a perfect squeaky clean franchise film. That’s what I was impressed by, the meticulous thought behind it. Pretty much every decision was very well thought through to meet everyone’s outrageous expectations, and to not have a repeat of the prequels.

It failed to really break much new ground outside the effects (I had trouble discerning what was cgi and what was practical, which is very impressive) but it succeeded in being a brand new Star Wars movie. In perfect honesty I enjoyed it more than the originals. Feel free to blame that on special editions or the fact that I didn’t watch them in theaters, but it’s the truth.

I would recommend it, but you’ve already seen it.

Leave a Reply

